Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

Memories of Texas – Chicken Fried Steak at Massey’s

with 6 comments


chicken fried steak

     Many years ago, as a young man, I lived for a time in Ft. Worth Texas. My main motivation for this move was, on the surface, a college education. Deep down I always knew I just wanted to move out of my parents house and be independent. Not that there was anything wrong at my parents house. Sure I had my share of teenage misadventures but in spite of that I managed to graduate, so in the fall of 1977 off I went to Texas. During my years in the south my friends took satisfaction in showing me what Texas was really like (Bigger and better comes to mind). This extended to the food. Biscuits and gravy for breakfast, BBQ for lunch, Tex-Mex for supper became the standards. And then there was Chicken Fried Steak. Chicken Fried Steak not just from anywhere but from Massey’s. Massey’s had the best! Steak breaded and fried to a golden brown served with a some freshly mashed potatoes and topped with a peppery cream gravy, boy I’ll tell you there was nothing like it!

     Although the ownership has changed hands Massey’s is still in operation just as it has been for the last 50+ years. They still serve Chicken Fried Steak, Fried Catfish, and an array of Texas favorite and you can be sure no one goes home hungry so if you find yourself in Fort Worth you should check it out! It’s worth the stop.

   I have had and made Chicken Fried Steak several times since I moved from Ft. Worth although up here in Michigan they call it Country Fried Steak and serve it with brown gravy (I had one women who became furious when I tried to serve it to her with cream gravy). I still prefer Chicken Fried Steak.   

Chicken Fried Steak

 

2x 4 oz portions of Cube steak

1/4 cup of milk

1 egg

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/4 teaspoon paprika

1 cup vegetable oil or shortening

  1. Mix the salt pepper and paprika together and sprinkle on both sides of each cube steak.
  2. Blend together the egg and milk well.
  3. Dip each cube steak first in flour, then in egg, and finally again in flour. Set aside.
  4. Heat oil (or shortening) to a medium high heat.
  5. Pan fry Cube steak in hot oil until golden brown and crusty on the bottom. Turn each steak and fry the other side until done.

Cream Gravy

Remove all but 2 tablespoon of oil from the pan and bring to a medium heat.

Sprinkle in 3 tablespoon flour and stir/cook for1 1/2 minutes. Do not burn!

Slowly pour in 1 1/2 cups of milk (whole) and stir until thickened.

Season with salt and freshly cracked Black Pepper.

Serve over your steak and potatoes.

  • Chicken Fried Steak comes with a cream gravy not a brown gravy.
  • When you bread your steak keep 1 hand dry. If both hands are wet the breading will stick to your hand ad will come off.
  • These days most versions of Chicken Fried Steak are deep fried for the convenience of the cook. Do not take this shortcut. Your product will suffer.
  • The amount of oil or shortening you use is proportionate to the pan you are cooking in. The oil should be about a 1/2 inch deep.
  • Use whole milk in your gravy. If you use a lower fat product you take the chance that your gravy will break.

                                                                                                                                                                                       

Written by Ed Schenk

March 26, 2010 at 12:01 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh yum. It’s been years since I’ve had a chicken fried steak and I must admit, I make a mean gravy. This post made me instantly hungry.

    leaannbrown

    March 26, 2010 at 6:10 pm

  2. well of course it’s called Chicken Fried Steak. Country Fried Chicken isn’t called Chicken Fried Chicken – the terms are not interchangable. Gee whiz…..:)

    Liz Cipollina

    March 26, 2010 at 12:16 pm

  3. Dear ED – Thanks for reinventing the old Southern classics. Since I consider myself part Indian and part Dixie chick :) I am thrilled to learn the proper way of fixing Chicken Fried Steak.

    I LOVE soul food – it honestly feeds the soul. And when I’m eating it, my diet couldn’t be further from my mind :)

    Thanks for this!

    Ciao, Devaki

    • It’s a part of my formative years. I can’t have it every day but once in a while…

      Ed Schenk

      March 26, 2010 at 11:56 am

  4. This is definitely NOT on my diet – but “cheat day” is right around the corner ! :) Looks really good, Ed. Something about Southern food just = comfort food… even though I have never lived there ! I was devastated when a great little place around here closed – Chef Gary did the best pulled pork and mac & cheese ANYWHERE !

    Aileen

    March 26, 2010 at 11:20 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

