Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

Tai Pan Bakery

leave a comment »


  I grew up in suburban New Jersey.My first experience with Chinese food was as a child. I fondly remember my parents taking us out to the local Polynesian themed Chinese restaurant (complete with Tiki Huts and Koi Ponds) where we would feast on Egg Rolls, Wonton Soup and Chow Mein. Then, one day, my family went on an adventure. We went to Chinatown (in New York) where I became aware that there was just so much more to Chinese food that the Egg Rolls,Wonton Soup and Chow Mein that I had known. The sites, sounds and smells were incredible. There were shops with roast ducks and pigs hanging in the window. People were dashing too and fro with carts filled with all manner of foods. The only language I heard was Chinese leaving us feeling as if we truly had left America for a foreign land. Somewhere along the way we stopped at a bakery and this is where I had my first Roast Pork Bun.When I moved to Detroit my experience with Chinese food was limited to the local take out place. Chinese food had become something to have when my wife and I were too tired to cook but one day I was driving down John R an there it was! A Chinese bakery!Located in a quiet strip mall in Madison Heights Tai Pan Bakery has been offering a large variety of traditional Chinese baked goods since it first opened in 1994.The owner, Woody Chan , learned his craft in New York’s Chinatown.Woody and his crew of 4 make available a large selection of Chinese pastries. On the savory side there is Roast Pork Buns, Roast Chicken Buns, Curry Beef Patties, Ham and Scallion Buns to name few. On the sweet side Red Bean Buns, Taro Root Buns, as well as more familiar bakery items such as Swiss Roll and Birthday cakes, Everything is made in house including the Roast meats for the savory offerings. The bakery is open 7 days a week from 10 AM to 8 PM (9 PM on Friday and Saturday).

 

Tai Pan Bakery

31664 John R,

 Madison Heights

248-583-3088

 

Written by Ed Schenk

December 15, 2009 at 12:22 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

