Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

Butcher Boy

leave a comment »


 

 

   In my last post I prepared a menu that required crawfish but where in Detroit Michigan can you get them? I had to stop and think a minute. I remembered that I had bought them whole in the supermarket but I to get down to the meat of the matter (pun intended) I didn’t want to have to peel the little buggers (again pun intended).  I thought about a store that I had visited a couple of times before – Butcher Boy in Warren Michigan. Butcher Boy is probably the best source, in Michigan, for a foodies wild game needs. On a previous visit I have purchased duck breast but Butcher Boy has so much more. In addition to the crawfish I was looking for Butcher Boy has a wide variety of wild game products including venison (cuts, sausage and jerky), buffalo, wild boar and game birds. They also process for Detroit’s hunting population. The regret I had about my visit was that they had some smoked wild boar and I didn’t take advantage.

Butcher Boy

13869 Herbert Ave

Warren, MI 48089

800-808-3337

Written by Ed Schenk

December 19, 2009 at 9:49 am

Posted in Review

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

