Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

Clinton Township’s “Seoul” Food Restaurant

leave a comment »


     Although I have some experience with Korean food I never felt quite well versed in it. My early exposure to this cuisine was limited to several visits to a Korean restaurant because it had a sushi bar. My interest in Korean food was reborn when my daughter Kat moved to Korea (she teaches English there). Before she left she turned me on to a Korean Grocery/restaurant that she knew. At first I just stopped to pick up my usual array of Asian Foodstuffs (Sesame oil, Rice Noodles etc.) but in subsequent visits I have decided Hankuk Restaurant/Grocery is much more. In addition to the grocery part of the operation there is a small restaurant. I hope to eat in the restaurant in the near future but what I was I was out for was one of the homemade Korean specialties that are offered in the grocery each Saturday. This is fast food for the global traveler. At the register is an assortment of Korean sushi rolls,mung bean pancakes,dumplings,noodle dishes etc. available to take home.

As usual I couldn’t decide what to have so I had to buy one of everything and went home and had a feast

From left to right: Dumplings filled with sirloin and kimchee,mung bean pancake, omelette with scallion/krab and kimbap ( Korean sushi)

Hankuk Restaurant                                                                                                  

33717 S. Gratiot                                                                                                      

Clinton Township, Michigan 48035                                                                    

586-771-8877

For a review of the restaurant I suggest: The Metro Times

Written by Ed Schenk

December 27, 2009 at 9:59 am

Posted in Food, Review

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

