Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

My Top Ten

with one comment


 

    Happy New Year!!

    Well it’s New Years (Happy New Year!) and it is time to reflect on the year gone by, as well as, consider the future. It is in this spirit I give you my Top Ten Foodie lists of 2009/2010. Hope you enjoy.

    Top Ten New Year’s Resolutions for 2010

    1. I will continue to write this Blog posting at least 2 times a week.

    2. I will work to get this Blog out to more readers. If you dig this site please subscribe.

    3. I will work on the site design in order to make it more attractive and user-friendly (anybody with help or suggestions please contact me!!)

    4. I will spend more time with the people I love and cook with them. We will eat, drink and be merry.

    5. I will visit interesting food destination in Detroit. These will be places I have never been. I will then bring them to you!

    6. I will visit interesting food destination outside of Detroit (Paris?, London?, Ann Arbor?).

    7. I will continue to work on my BBQ chops in order to, eventually, be competition ready. I have a cousin who does this out east. She actually wins. I’m jealous!

    8. I will start a food business. The food truck thing is exploding across the country ( not here in Detroit yet). You can get anything from Crepes to Tacos to Falafel. Anybody interested in a cup of Gumbo from my mobile Gumbo Shack?

    9. I will, once again, visit my adopted second home on Ocracoke Island in N.C. (known to be a quaint little drinking town with a fishing problem). I will return to nature by catching, killing and cooking my own dinners (something that happens only once or twice in the week that I am there but what the hey!).

    10. I will lose weight and get fit. I will do this by eating healthy, nutritious food that I cook at home (we won’t talk about the late night wing binges of 2009).

        Top Ten foods I ate in 2009

        1. The Bahn Mi sandwich at Que Huong in Madison Heights.It’s heaven on a bun!

        2. Bluefish cakes. I made these in Ocracoke. Caught the fish myself, filleted it and cooked it. It was a hit with my friends.

        3. Chicken and Sausage Gumbo. I make a mean Gumbo. If I do say so myself.

        4. Grilled Rack of Lamb. I used to do the Rack of Lamb at the Whitney many years ago. My technique has only gotten better.

        5. Mabou Tofu. This is tofu and ground beef in a spicy sauce. I had an excellent Japanese Chef who worked for me and made this. outstanding!

        6. Lasagna from Villa restaurant in Eastpointe. I can’t put my finger on what makes it so special but it’s the best I have ever had.( they also make a mean pizza)

        7. Mixed green salad with Raspberry Vinaigrette and Blue cheese. The play between salty and sweet works beautifully.

        8. When I say Blue Cheese I mean Maytag Blue. This is one of the great cheeses produced by American cheese makers. Softer but has some crystalline structure to it. A sign of a well aged cheese.

        9. Smoked Loin of Venison/ Goose Breast. I have a hunter friend who provided these. I love wild game. It’s so primal.

        10. Sautéed Morel Mushrooms. Simple but it says it. Nature’s bounty at it’s finest. Available each spring here in Michigan.

            Top Ten food gadget/tools I have or want to get.

            1. Pasta maker (have). I love to make fresh Pasta. It put’s the dry Pasta to shame.

            2. Mandoline (have). Can’t make Gaufrette Potato without it.

            3. Electric knife (have). Nothing like it for cutting egg rolls in half or slicing Terrines.

            4. Stick Blender (have). Makes cream soups a snap.

            5. Knives (have). I now have 2 sets. One for the house and one(with a great carrying case) to travel with.

            6. Food Processor (want). had one and it broke. Just haven’t gotten around to replacing it.

            7. Jaccard (want). A mechanical tenderizer for meats. Basically a handle with a bunch of needle attached. Great tool though.

            8. Spiroli (want). One of those apple peeling/spiral-slicing machines. I’ve been dying to make my own curly fries.

            9. Small Electric Slicer (want). Just the thing for that Sunday Roast.

            10. Meat Grinder/Sausage Stuffer (want). From time to time I get the urge to make my own sausages. Actually comes as an attachment with the Kitchen Aid Professional Series Stand Mixer. This is one badass Mixer and I am including it here because this is a Top Ten NOT a Top Eleven.

            Written by Ed Schenk

            January 2, 2010 at 10:39 am

            One Response

            Subscribe to comments with RSS.

            1. […] Back around new Years I did a post called “My Top Ten” in which, amongst other things, I included a list of my favorite kitchen gadgets that I either had […]


            Leave a Reply

