Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

One Great Lasagna

with 4 comments


     I love Lasagna! Having made my own cheese (Ricotta) it was only fitting that I use the cheese to make homemade Lasagna. I had made many lasagna before both at work and at home but had never really been satisfied with the results – until now.

     For this meal my wife and I cooked together. I would make the basic components and she would assemble the finished product. Lasagna is comprised of 4 elements- pasta, cheese, meat and sauce. These elements need to complement each other. For pasta we used a well-known no-bake brand of egg pasta sheet. Homemade pasta sheets would have been better but much more time consuming. For cheese we used the homemade Ricotta with the addition of Mozzarella and Provolone. The meat was ground beef with Italian sausage (about 50-50). The sausage adds a nice punch. For sauce we had always used a jar for convenience but I have sworn off this. I find it always gives the lasagna an off taste. Instead I used a can of ground tomato (28 oz) with the addition of 1 teaspoon of sugar, 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 teaspoon chopped garlic and 2 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil. I just simmered it for 40 minutes while stirring occasionally. For the last 10 minutes I added some fresh basil. I didn’t bother to chop it I just bruised it with my hands and tossed it in to steep (I fished it out afterwards). To finish the sauce I added a squeeze of lemon. This was one great sauce!

     Assembling instructions:

     1.  Cover the bottom of the baking dish with sauce (8 x 8 2 1/2).

     2.  Place 2 sheets of no boil lasagna noodles over the sauce.

     3.  Cover with sauce, crumbled meat, ricotta cheese and provolone (in that order)

     4.  Use 2 more sheets of no boil pasta and repeat step 3

     5.  Use 2 more sheets of pasta, cover with sauce, a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese and a healthy coating of mozzarella.  Dot with sauce.

      6. Cover with foil and bake at 350 degrees until the sauce bubbles (about 1 hour).

     Enjoy!!

Written by Ed Schenk

January 13, 2010 at 10:10 pm

Posted in Entertainment, Food

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i LOVE that this is so much thinner than the lasagnas with which i’m familiar. those are always such a mess to eat, but i could (and would) inhale your version quickly and easily. very nicely done, ed. :)

    grace

    January 21, 2010 at 9:11 pm

  2. Thanks
    E.S.

    Ed Schenk

    January 16, 2010 at 8:49 am

  3. oh this is a fab lasagna and you even made your own cheese impressive thanks for visiting my blog Rebecca

    Rebecca

    January 16, 2010 at 8:29 am

    • Thanks. The cheese is pretty easy. You should try it. I’ll be making mozzarella this weekend.

      Ed Schenk

      January 21, 2010 at 12:51 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

