Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

Just Messing Around in the Kitchen Pt #1 (Korean Pot Roast)

with 23 comments


     http://www.public-domain-image.com (public domain image)      

     Sometimes the best creations are born out of necessity. Last Week I had occasion to make a dish that excited me enough to write about it. I was in the local supermarket and came across an item that would become part of my menu plan for the week. What I found was an English Roast on sale. It is unfortunate that at times this cut of meat can be somewhat pricy so when I find it on sale I always stock up. What made this special is how I chose to prepare it. I currently have a daughter in Seoul, South Korea and she had sent me some Taeyangcho Gochujang (Hot pepper paste). This is available in Korean specialty markets here in Detroit and across the U.S. I had been experimenting with this paste in several recipes and liked it but hadn’t found ,what I considered, the best way to use it.For a while I had been intrigued by some of the Korean simmered dishes I had been looking at online and decided to make a “Korean” Pot Roast. This turned out to be one of the easiest dishes I had ever made and it was fabulous.

Korean Pot Roast

1 English Roast (2# approx) or other cut for Pot Roast
1 Onion Chopped roughly
1 Carrot sliced in coins
1 tablespoon Garlic
1/4 cup Soy Sauce (Low sodium)
2 cups of water
1/2 tube (30 GM) Taeyangcho Gochujang (Hot pepper paste)

 

 

Sear beef for 4 minutes on each side
Add remaining ingredients
Bring to a boil
reduce to a simmer and simmer for 2 hours or until tender.
Serve with white rice
Garnish with fresh basil and cashews

 

The Hot Pepper paste has just enough heat and depth of flavor to make this a truly great dish.

Written by Ed Schenk

February 3, 2010 at 3:38 am

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s interesting. Japanese have similar looking dish but flavoring ingredients are very different. I should try this Korean version sometime.

    Directory

    March 19, 2013 at 10:40 am

  2. I first created this recipe on allrecipes.com. The reason your version is more mild is because you reduced the gochujang paste to only 2 tbs. It’s supposed to be 3 HEAPING tbs to be really authentic. Be sure to use chicken with bone-in so the meat stays juicy and not dried out.

    strumpfhosen

    March 2, 2011 at 12:52 am

  3. I haven’t tried this recipe yet, but it sounds great. Just in case anyone is wondering, this recipe is very authentic. I’m living in Korea now and love this meal! It’s so delicious! It sure can make you sweat!

    Teeter Hang ups

    February 6, 2011 at 11:15 am

  4. Anything Korean is delicious! 🙂 Love the recipe.

    Sook @ My Fabulous Recipes

    February 6, 2010 at 4:11 am

  5. Sounds hearty and spicy! A great dish! Thanks so much for stopping by my site last week – so sorry it took me so long to visit, still catching up after my vacation 🙂

    Natasha - 5 Star Foodie

    February 5, 2010 at 11:53 pm

  6. I agree. And such creation is a good creation 🙂

    tigerfish

    February 5, 2010 at 10:23 am

  7. i am addicted to kimchi and gochuchang. in fact i made bibimbap a couple of weeks ago (http://ems-premature-eblogulation.blogspot.com/search/label/Korean%20Bibimbap), and i just can’t get enough of gochuchang…. The cashew gives a nice contrasting texture to the soft beef, and i also love it with Charlie Chan Chicken Pasta… Thanks for dropping by at my blog by the way… U

    Mhe-Lhanee Benito

    February 4, 2010 at 5:24 am

    • Thanks for checking out the post!
      I watched “Chopped” on the food network recently and gochuchang was one of the mystery ingredients.

      Ed Schenk

      February 4, 2010 at 6:02 am

  8. how creative! your daughter is in south korea? one of my best friends is moving there in 2 weeks to teach english. she’ll be there for a year. how does your daughter like korea?

    Krissy @ The Food Addicts

    February 4, 2010 at 5:03 am

    • My daughter likes Korea very much. So much so that she is considering staying for a second year. When she comes back (for vacation) I am asking her to bring me all sort of interesting Korean foodstuffs for my pain and suffering ( I miss her!).

      Ed Schenk

      February 4, 2010 at 5:22 am

  9. You’ve sorely tempted me with this recipe. I’m going to find a source for that hot pepper paste and give this a try. Have a great day, Ed. Blessings…Mary

    Mary

    February 4, 2010 at 2:29 am

  10. Just found your blog today 🙂 being of korean heritage, i’m always on the lookout for k-food recipes. This looks super yummy! gahm-sah-hahm-nee-dah (Thanks!)

    Kitchen Monki Dan

    February 4, 2010 at 12:06 am

    • Thanks for checking in. It’s a great recipe and very easy.

      Ed Schenk

      February 4, 2010 at 1:12 am

  11. wow this looks fabulous what a great dish you created

    Rebecca

    February 3, 2010 at 11:59 pm

  12. Nothing like “just messing around” the kitchen and coming up with great food like this Korean Pot Roast. Looks wonderful, and the addition of hot pepper paste, cashews and fresh basil make it a winner for me.

    Culinarily yours,
    CCR
    =:~)

    Cajun Chef Ryan

    February 3, 2010 at 11:03 pm

  13. sounds and looks delicious.

    Stephanie

    February 3, 2010 at 3:41 am

    • Glad to see your keeping up with the blog. Tell your friends?

      Ed Schenk

      February 3, 2010 at 3:44 am


Leave a Reply

