Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

Valentines Day

with 18 comments


     Back at Christmas I had the good fortune of receiving a box of steaks as a gift. After cooking a couple for to celebrate that Holiday I packed them in the freezer to break out on another special day. Valentines was one of those days. Now these were not your ordinary supermarket steaks. They were prime,dry aged sirloin,about 12 ounces per steak. To explain a little more about what a prime steak is you need to understand grading. Most beef is given a quality grade, as are cuts of Veal and Lamb. At the bottom of the grading system there is Cutter,canner and utility grades. These are used most often by commercial processors and show up in products like canned beef stew or soup. Above that there is standard and choice. These 2 grades are what you most likely find in the local supermarket (choice is better that standard). At the top is Prime, which mostly finds it’s way to higher end restaurants and specialty vendors.

     Now that I had my beef I needed to come up with the rest of the meal. For starters I thought a Shrimp Cocktail would be nice. My wife heartily agreed

Shrimp Cocktail

     The next thing to be decided was how to prepare the steak and what to have with it. As much as I enjoy grilling (and do it in all sorts of weather) Conditions just were not favorable so I decided to just cook them in a pan using some fresh rosemary and clarified butter. The rosemary just got tossed in the pan with the butter to flavor it and I basted the steaks to infuse them with some of that flavor. After searing and basting the steaks I then put then in the oven to finish cooking. For the sauce I chose a demiglace. I sautéed some shallots,added some port wine I had in the cupboard, a little reduced beef stock  and let that reduce. I then thickened it slightly with a Burre Mane (a pasted of Flour and butter used for thickening) and added a couple of drops of truffle oil. It came out very well indeed!

      For the starch I decided on a crisp potato cake. I shredded some potato on the mandoline and added an egg(to bind) and a few teaspoon of lemon juice so the potatoes didn’t turn brown. A little salt and pepper and my potatoes were ready to go in the pan. I sautéed the potatoes in some clarified butter until crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. I then used the potato cake as a base for my steak and served it with my  sauce on top.

steak1bg_022000

     To finish the meal I made homemade apple crepes.

Written by Ed Schenk

February 25, 2010 at 12:51 am

Posted in Food

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow it must be great to have a chef as a husband yummy

    Rebecca

    February 27, 2010 at 10:16 am

  2. Sounds like a great meal! I love the picture of the shrimp cocktail!

    5 Star Foodie

    February 27, 2010 at 5:05 am

  3. Shrimp cocktail and the grilled steak looks like the perfect Valentines Day meal.

    Cajun Chef Ryan

    February 27, 2010 at 1:13 am

  4. Wow great looking shrimp cocktail!

    Chili

    February 27, 2010 at 12:01 am

  5. Sounds like just what I ate for valentine’s, but we went out. Other than grilling, I find it hard to judge the doneness of steak and hate ruining a good one – so I usually wait for grill season.

    Aileen

    February 26, 2010 at 10:39 pm

  6. Ahh, there’s nothing like a good steak! Sounds like you made a fantastic Valentine’s meal!!

    inspired2cook

    February 26, 2010 at 6:52 am

  7. Hey Chef,
    Thank you for visiting! Great blog! I think I have a lot to learn from you.

    Shirley

    February 25, 2010 at 10:58 am

  8. I personally think shrimp cocktail is a great beginning to a steak meal. Throw in some potatoes and mushrooms and I’m in heaven.

    leaannbrown

    February 25, 2010 at 10:32 am

  9. I am doing the adopt a blogger, too. Thanks for stopping by. Your blog looks great! Can’t wait to try some of your recipes!

    theteachercooks

    February 25, 2010 at 7:52 am

    • If I can help you with anything (recipes,blogging) feel free to ask.

      Ed Schenk

      February 25, 2010 at 8:40 am

  10. Mmm, that looks insane! I love the potato cake idea too. I’m coming over for dinner!

    Alex Fitzpatrick

    February 25, 2010 at 5:29 am


Leave a Reply

