Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

Meatless Fridays #2 – Salmon Patties

with 16 comments


salmon 1

     Growing up on the East coast I was introduced to fresh seafood at an early age. My earliest memories are of having fried fish on Friday. As I grew up I learned to love seafood. fresh fish, lobster, clams and shrimp were all on the table at one time or another.

     We always went on vacation in August. My Mom and Dad would pack up the car, with my sister and I onboard, and were were off to some exotic (at least for us kids) location. On one trip we headed south on route # 13 down the Delmarva Peninsula through Delaware,Maryland and Virginia. At the end of the Peninsula was the newly built Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel . This 23 mile crossing was a combination of bridges and tunnels connecting the Eastern shore of Maryland/Virginia and the Norfolk Hampton Roads area (Virginia). One of the things that made the bridge special was the restaurant and pier that sat on the southernmost island of the crossing. Here sat a gift shop, a fishing pier (I fished it as a kid!) and a restaurant. The last time I crossed and stopped (2005) the restaurant had deteriorated into some kind of fast food joint where you can grab a burger an a soda before pushing on but in those days it was a sit down dining experience with fresh fish and a full bar. I remember my dad ordering a beer and having it come in a decorative/collectable tin mug ( I still have this souvenir). I also remember my first Crab Cake. The sweet crab with that Old Bay Seasoning topped with tartar sauce was magical.

     Having worked with food most of my life I have made more than a few Crab Cakes. I have also learned that other fish and seafood work almost as well in cake form as Crab does. I have made Cod Cakes, Shrimp Cakes, and even an excellent Bluefish cake ( from fish I caught myself last Summer). For my second meatless Friday menu I am going to make Salmon Cakes.

    Seafood cakes of this type come in two versions. The first is called Boardwalk style. This version usually has fish or seafood,mayonnaise, seasoning, egg and breadcrumb to bind. These are deep fried and served on a bun. The second version ( what I am going to make) is called Restaurant style. It contains the same basic ingredients but with much less filler. It is also sautéed instead of deep fried and is not served on a bun. I really like the recipe on the side of the Old Bay Seasoning canister so I always use this a a basic recipe. I also like to add some sautéed red pepper and onion and a teaspoon of a good mustard. I am also adding a couple of shrimp that I have on hand. Why? you ask. Why not? I say. While there is nothing wrong with Tartar sauce I like to ( as a famous TV Chef once said) “kick it up a notch” by serving the cakes topped with a little Remoulade Sauce. While this dish can be (and historically is) made with leftover fish or seafood I am using fresh Salmon an a couple of shrimp I have on hand. One of the important things to remember is to only use as much (or as little) binder as you need for your mix to hold together. Also, don’t mince the fish/shellfish up too much or it will get lost amongst the rest of the ingredients. Use a larger dice so you know the fish is there.

 

Salmon Cakes

Makes 4

 

1 # fresh Salmon diced medium
1/4# Shelled Shrimp
1 tablespoon Mayonnaise
1 tablespoon fresh chopped Parsley
1/4 cup  finely diced red sweet red pepper and onion (sautéed)
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1teaspoon mustard
1 teaspoon Old Bay seasoning
1 egg beaten
bread crumb to bind ( just enough for the mix to hold together)

 

Mix all ingredient together and form into 4 larger ( or 8 smaller) patties.
Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
Saute in a  buttered skillet until a golden brown crust forms on the bottom.
Carefully flip your cakes and repeat process on the other side.
Make sure your fish is cooked. If you are concerned the Salmon cakes can be placed in a hot oven for a few minutes.

 

For the Remoulade sauce I like to keep it simple. I just mix mayonnaise, a little pickle relish, chopped capers, fresh chopped parsley,lemon juice and some good mustard to make the sauce. Feel free to use any similar recipe!

Enjoy!
Written by Ed Schenk

March 6, 2010 at 7:01 am

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I try to go meatless at least once a week too, and usually fall back to fish such as salmon. Yummy salmon cakes you have. I like to have mine with some mango salsa.

    tigerfish

    March 12, 2010 at 7:57 am

  2. We eat a lot of salmon. I’d love to make salmon cakes. I’m tired of the same old grilled salmon filets. These look wonderful. Thanks Ed!

    Kristi Rimkus

    March 10, 2010 at 11:15 am

    • It’s great way to cook salmon. Whenever I get piece of salmon thats larger than I can (or should) eat. I trim a piece off to use for cakes.

      Ed Schenk

      March 10, 2010 at 8:31 pm

  3. I also made fish cakes last week. http://cookingrookie.blogspot.com/2010/03/fish-cakes.html

    All the recipes I found had mashed potatoes, which seemed strange to me. I wish I’d found your recipe sooner. Will try your way next time :-).
    Thanks for the recipe!

    Cooking Rookie

    March 10, 2010 at 8:45 am

    • Not so strange when you consider that fish cake (Crab Cakes etc.) were originall made to use up leftovers.

      Ed Schenk

      March 10, 2010 at 8:54 am

  4. Hi Ed – I am such a fan of salmon cakes! Love them & can eat them for breakfast, lunch and dinner!

    Yours look wonderful with the traditional Old Bay seasoning – so moist too. My hubby & I would drive all the way to Annapolis from VA just for the salmon & crab cakes 🙂

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

    • I remember a place call the Middletown Tavern in Annapolis. Stopped ther whenever I was within range. Great crab dishes.

      Ed Schenk

      March 8, 2010 at 5:21 am

  5. Your salmon cakes look delicious! I enjoyed your vacation memories.

    Laurie

    March 8, 2010 at 3:51 am

  6. Oh, I love salmon patties and just wish I had lived on the East coast for the fresh seafood and beautiful scenery! My favorite recipe is close to this, just no shrimp. Yours looks and sounds delicious! Thanks!

    Pam

    March 8, 2010 at 2:08 am

  7. I love to make salmon patties like this and my whole family enjoys it. I’ve never tried Old Bay, but I think I must be missing out – it’s on the list to try out.

    Diana

    March 7, 2010 at 4:45 am

    • Old Bay is a wonderful spice blend. I like to use it to steam crabs and shrimp too.

      Ed Schenk

      March 7, 2010 at 11:17 pm

  8. Crab cakes and salmon cakes are at the top of my favorites list. I’ve made this recipe many, many times and it truly is the best in my opinion. I spent time cooking in Baltimore and this is the seafood cake recipe you’ll most often find in that area.

    lvegas

    March 7, 2010 at 2:47 am


Leave a Reply

