Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

Kitchen Gadgets/How to make fresh Egg Pasta

with 24 comments


pasta machine

     One of my favorite things to make in the kitchen is fresh egg pasta. Ever since I bought my first pasta machine ( a good 25 years ago) I have been turning out various versions of pasta creations. I still have that pasta maker and it has served me well both at home and at work. There have been capellini,spaghetti,fettuccine, lasagna, cannelloni, and even something I call pasta rags ( pasta sheets that I just ran a knife through). Although there are several electric pasta makers on the market I still use my original, hand crank machine and as long as I keep it clean (no water, no soap, Clean by hand with,at most, a moist rag or paper towel) I expect it to serve me well for many years to come. I seem to remember paying around $20.00 for my Imperia Pasta Machine (Italian). These days the prices run anywhere from $ 50.00 to over $500 for a top of the line electric machine. My machine is pretty basic. It will knead and roll the dough which leaves me sheets. It also has an attachment that allows me to cut capellini and fettuccine (plus several variations depending on how thick or thin I roll my dough). It should be noted that my machine only rolls and cuts dough, it does not extrude it so shapes like rotini,elbow macaroni etc. are not possible.

     In a previous post I made an Eggplant Parmesan tower and served it with a side of home made spaghetti and promised a recipe. Here it is.

Fresh Egg Pasta

 

3/4 cup flour ( about 1/4 cup more flour will be needed for kneading)
1 egg
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon water
1 teaspoon salt

 

Place 3/4 cup flour in a bowl and make a well in the center of the pile.

Mix the egg,oil,water and salt in a cup.

Pour, a little bit at a time, the egg mixture into the center of the well while stirring with a fork. Begin to work the flour into the egg slowly so that you mixture stays smooth.

Continue until all the egg and flour are incorporated to form a dough.

Pasta dough

Dough Ball is too moist to roll in the machine 

pasta fold

1st Fold

When the dough is dry enough to handle,but not quite dry enough to knead with the machine, flatten it and sprinkle with some flour. This will allow the dough to be cranked through the machine without sticking.

pasta knead

Kneading the dough with the pasta maker

pasta fold

2nd Fold

Repeat this process until the dough is smooth and pliable. At this point begin reducing the settings by using the knob on the left of the machine until you reach the desired thickness Hang the pasta to dry until the edges just start to dry out. This, as with all pasta making, can depend on variables such as moisture in the dough and humidity. Learning to recognize when to move on to the next step takes some experience.

 pasta hanging

Pasta hanging to dry

pasta cutting

Time to cut the pasta

When you pasta sheets have dried enough it’s time to cut your pasta the attachment slides right onto the base. With this attachment you can cut either fettuccine or spaghetti. You can also make lasagna or cannelloni by cutting the sheets to size and even ravioli

pasta

I sprinkled a little extra flour on my pasta to keep it from sticking to itself

pasta bowl

Pasta with Marinara sauce

 

It is important to remember that fresh pasta cooks very quickly. With a very thin noodle (capellini) it can take just a matter of seconds while a thicker fettuccine noodle will take a little longer. It is probably not something you want to walk away from.

If you don’t have a  pasta machine please remember that all this can be done by hand. It just takes time and patience. In a pinch you can always buy fresh pasta in the refrigerated section of your local grocery although it is somewhat pricey.

My pasta maker is one of the most important tools I have in my kitchen and well worth the investment. As you can see I don’t have the machine with all the bells and whistles but I get along fine.I hope you consider the investment for your kitchen!

Written by Ed Schenk

March 18, 2010 at 9:13 pm

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. First time making dough for fettucini and did not look good at first, the dough was oatmeal, dry. Well, went back over the recipe and oops! forgot to include the olive oil and teaspoon of water. Corrected it by adding them both and Voila!:D Over all, it turned out just like the above picture.
    The tip using the flour once the fetticine is made is helpful and works, also, not turning your back on fresh pasta when boiling was even better.

    My pasta attachment is not the cranking kind but the KAid for other cooking purposes. At this pooint, it took the kinks out of doubts.

    Marian

    June 3, 2012 at 7:39 pm

  2. I do have to say, that my knives are my favorites. I want a REALLY nice set someday, like the chefs at work use.

  3. Yum, I always end up making ravioli with my pasta machine…. your pasta looks FANTASTIC! Thanks for the post.

    michelle

    March 31, 2010 at 8:41 am

    • I also make ravioli. My current favorite filling is fennel and ricotta.

      Ed Schenk

      March 31, 2010 at 10:07 am

  4. I’ve never made homemade pasta…and it always amazes me. My grandmother used to make noodles and hang them to dry on the kitchen cabinet doors.

    There was a wonderful recipe I wanted to try last week that really demanded a pasta machine. I may, after all these years, have to break down and buy one!
    A simple machine like yours is all I’d ever need.

    Barbara

    March 20, 2010 at 6:31 am

    • My wifes Grandmother used to do the same thing (make it by hand and hang it around the house). The best thing about the machine is the consistancy of the dough, always the same thickness. This is something I don’t think I could do by hand. Shop around, the machines are relatively cheap and a great investment!

      Ed Schenk

      March 20, 2010 at 5:11 pm

  5. Hi Ed – Too wierd – I know you don’t know this, but we are telepathic!

    Just 2 nights ago I perched on the couch looking at pasta machines on Amazon.

    I am at a thorough loss on 2 aspects – which one should I get & do you think I’ll be able to use it? I have never made fresh pasta before & suffer the jitters.

    Also, my kitchen is the size of a postage stamp so I always have to be certain something is going to be used all the time before making an investment.

    Help 🙂

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

    • Hi Devaki,
      I have an Imperia machine and it is the only machine I have ever owned so I am hard pressed to compare it to other machines. What I can tell you is that I’ve had it for 27 years now and never needed to buy another one and I think that says something. What I do know is that the Italian machines roll just a bit thinner than the American machines.
      While I don’t use my machine every day each time I do use it is a joyful experience to me and even though there are times it sits in the cupboard it is as important to me as a sword would be to a Samurai. It’s part of my culinary arsenal!
      In so far as the jitters are concerned over pasta making once you get it it stay with you for life. It’s like bread making in that respect. If you understand it it rarely fails you. If a batch doesn’t work don’t worry, it’s only flour, eggs and water
      (not like you burned the roast!).
      My pasta machine is a basic machine and it serves me well. There are several add on attachments that are available and work with varying degrees of success. I haven’t felt the need to purchase any ( the ravioli attachment I read works especially bad).
      I would recomend shopping around before purchasing to avoid stores with an unusually high markup but if you love food it’s an investment that pays back dividends!

      Ed Schenk

      March 20, 2010 at 5:07 pm

  6. I have this pasta machine too. Thanks for reminding 😉

    anncoo

    March 19, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    • We all need to inspire each other.
      It rolls a little thinner than the other machines!

      Ed Schenk

      March 19, 2010 at 10:32 pm

  7. I would love to make my own pasta noodles someday! Your noodles look perfect!

  8. There’s something for you on our blog

    giz

    March 19, 2010 at 12:12 pm

  9. Maybe now I’ll use my pasta machine more often 🙂

    giz

    March 19, 2010 at 11:20 am

  10. My family prefers homemade pasta now. Although it takes a bit of planning and extra time, it is so much more tasty than regular. I think I have the same pasta maker as you do.

    Kristen

    March 19, 2010 at 10:59 am

    • You can always make a double batch and freeze half. It will keep for a couple(2) of weeks!

      Ed Schenk

      March 19, 2010 at 11:40 am

  11. The machine makes the pasta task seem so easy.

    tigerfish

    March 19, 2010 at 2:09 am

  12. Nice one for spreading the fresh pasta word sir. And I have the same machine (it’s an Imperia right?). Wonderful piece of kit… will outlast me! 😉

    Pastastic Matt

    March 18, 2010 at 11:39 pm

    • It is ideed an Imperia. I think I bought it in 1982. Still looks great and works great.

      Ed Schenk

      March 19, 2010 at 1:23 am

  13. Very nice ! I have not made pasta in quite some time. The textures is so different from dry packaged pastas – so much better !

    Aileen

    March 18, 2010 at 9:30 pm


Leave a Reply

