Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

Meatless Fridays #4 – Vietnamese Rice Noodle Salad

with 17 comments


Rice noodle salad1

     With the weather getting warmer my creative juices have started flowing. One of my passions is Asian cuisine. In the past I’ve worked my way through Japanese,Chinese,Korean and Thai cuisine and most recently my culinary adventures have taken me to southeast Asia and in particular Vietnam.

    Vietnamese cuisine, in general, is characterized by the use of fresh meats and vegetables flavored with fish sauce (nuoc mam), along with a variety of fresh herbs. Each dish strives to achieve a balance between five elements. They are spicy,sour,bitter,sweet and salt.

     For my fourth “Meatless Friday” I decided to prepare a Vietnamese Rice Noodle salad. While a lot of Vietnamese dishes are very spicy I decided to leave out the peppers. What I didn’t leave out is flavor. The balance between sweet, salt and sour along with fresh cilantro creates a salad that is remarkably refreshing. For protein I have added some cooked shrimp and crushed peanuts.

Vietnamese Rice Noodle Salad

 

1/4 # (dry) rice noodles ( 1/4 of a package)
2 carrots (julienne)
1/2 English cucumber ( seeded and Julienne)
1/4 package fresh bean sprouts (about 2 oz)
2 green onion sliced
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1/4 cup crushed peanuts
4 medium cooked shrimp

 

Dressing:

 

1/3 cup rice wine vinegar
Juice of 1/2 lime
Juice of 1/4 lemon
1 teaspoon Fish sauce ( or soy sauce)
2 teaspoons sugar
1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil

 

Place to rice noodles in a pan and cover with boiling water. When softened  drain and set aside.

Combine all dressing ingredients. Stir until sugar is dissolved.

Toss the noodles, vegetables,peanuts and shrimp with the dressing and serve with a wedge of lime on the side.

 

  •      This should make 2 entree size salads or 4 appetizer size.
  •       If you like you spice add a teaspoon or so of sambal or a diced jalapeno.
  •       To make this Vegetarian/Vegan just leave out the shrimp.
  •      I didn’t have any fish sauce so I used soy. The change ( and the omission of the shrimp) also makes this a Vegan dish.

Khi an trai nho ke trong cay”

“When eating a fruit, think of the person who planted the tree”

Written by Ed Schenk

March 21, 2010 at 12:24 am

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on Detroit Eats.

    Ed Schenk

    December 18, 2014 at 4:26 pm

  2. This looks absolutely scrumptuous, and I am totally in love with Vietnamese flavors. Thanks for this!

  3. […] Great Recipe: Vietnamese Rice Noodle Salad (via Detroit Eats) via detroiteats.wordpress.com […]

  4. Not so strange, given history, Vietnamese ingredients are relatively easy to find here in France. Great salad, and I’m getting ready for warm weather cooking too! And congrats on your award ;-))

    katie

    March 26, 2010 at 5:59 am

  5. This looks really good. I especially like that you included cilantro and peanuts.

    McMom

    March 22, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    • Cilantro is traditional and I wanted to add the peanut for protein.

      Ed Schenk

      March 23, 2010 at 9:25 am

  6. This salad looks beautiful. I’m with you, I’m a huge fan of Asian foods.

    leaannbrown

    March 22, 2010 at 7:56 am

  7. This looks so good! And best of all, I can find all of the ingredients in my small town. I will be making this very soon. And I hope you’ll post more Asian recipes! 🙂

    Happy Spring!

    Leslie Limon

    March 21, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    • I’m finding that the best recipes have the least ingredients.

      Ed Schenk

      March 21, 2010 at 8:40 pm

  8. A lovely salad. Unfortunately fish sauce is not available here. I see you list soy sauce as an alternative. Would oyster sauce work as a substitute as well?

    Wizzythestick

    March 21, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    • As much as I love Oyster sauce I might be concerned that it would change the character of the dish. I think the soy would work better.

      Ed Schenk

      March 21, 2010 at 4:52 pm

  9. Looks good, Ed – we will be making it this week.

    Liz Cipollina

    March 21, 2010 at 3:54 pm

  10. I love how fresh and light this dish sounds. I’ve saved it for the future!

    Kristi Rimkus

    March 21, 2010 at 12:11 pm


Leave a Reply

