Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

The Sunshine Blog Award

with 13 comments


sunshine-award     

    I try to check and respond to my e-mail in a timely fashion. When I checked the other day I got a nice surprise when I found out that I was honored with The Sunshine Blog Award. Now I have only been blogging for 3 month and am very happy when I even get any comments on my posts so to have a fellow Blogger take this kind of notice meant a lot to me. For those not familiar the Sunshine Blog Award is awarded to bloggers whose positivity and creativity inspire others in the blog world.

     As I stated earlier I like to respond to e-mails quickly so I immediately responded to the person who honored me. Her name is Jenn and she is the voice behind  Defunkt Gourmet. This is a great site that originate ( I’m going out on a limb here because I saw a news headline on her site) Winnipeg Canada with great pictures, recipes and commentary. This was the easy part. I’ve read a lot of really great blogs and in order to single out twelve required some thought. I hope I will be excused for the tardiness. Please take the time to check out all these great sites. Without further delay I pass this award on to:

Cajun Chef Ryan – Chef Ryan is from New Orleans and brings his experiences working in the food industry, along with a wealth of recipes from the Big Easy, to his readers each week. Keep up the good work.

Deep South Dish – This very comprehensive site  follows a Southern theme with recipes and tips that will have you preparing Deep South Classics in no time.

Fight the Fat Foodie – Let’s face it healthy is not always the tastiest. This site is dedicated to healthy food that tastes great. Scott Koeneman takes recipes and shows way to trim the fat without losing the flavor. Great job Scott.

400 Calories or Less – Another great site focusing on healthy and delicious recipes all with less than 400 calories!

Edible Aria – This site is devoted to healthy eating with an emphasis on sustainable products. I find recipes here with an variety of unusual product. I also appreciate the “from scratch approach I find here!

Preserving Traditions – This site is near and dear to me as it originate out of Ann Arbor Michigan. As the Blog name suggest this site is about preserving traditions. The blog contains information on workshops and events on a variety of subject from Home made condiments (Ketchup, mustard etc.),jams and canned vegetables to making tamales with members of the Mexican community.

Powderate – This site is put together by Lee Ann Foster, A Culinary School Graduate who lives in British Columbia. Lots of natural foods recipes , many of which were foraged for in the wild.

Beyond Salmon -  Run by Chef/ instructor Helen Rennie this site dives into food with both hands not just focusing on recipes by why they work as well as vital information about the products she uses. She is particularly thorough about fish and seafood.

Equal Opportunity Kitchen – I would be remiss if I did not mention Gizmar and Psychgrad at Equal Opportunity Kitchen. They are my partners/mentors in the Adopt a Blog Program. There help and guidance keep me pointed in the right direction.

Dining in Detroit – This site helps me keep up with the goings on here in Detroit and the piece on the Taco trucks in Mexicantown was inspiring!

Stumptown Savory -  Great recipe and proper technique!

In the Kitchen with Nick– For a Non Chef Nick’s got some nice recipes.

Well there you have it. Please note that I decided not to give the award to Bloggers that already had received it. Also there are many other Bloggers out there that I read on a regular basis but limited myself to the suggested number of recipients

If you have received this award please consider passing it along to others. Here what you can do:

  • Put the logo on your blog or within your post
  • Pass the award on to as many as 12 bloggers.
  • Link the nominees within your post
  • Let the nominees know they have received this award by commenting on their blog
  • Share the love and link to the person from whom you received this award

Please note that these sites are listed in no particular order. To all of you out there reading this. Keep on Blogging. We all have something to say!

Written by Ed Schenk

March 23, 2010 at 1:26 pm

Posted in Blogging, Review

Tagged with ,

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Ed – congrats on The Sunshine Award! You have kindly shared knowledge and experience with us all, thank you. What a surprise … including me in the Sunshine Award. I love the name and feel pleased with inspiration! I must confess that I haven’t yet figured out how to “paste and copy”. To honor the award I will learn how to do this and follow up the honorable duties with pleasure!

    Lee Ann Foster

    March 28, 2010 at 12:37 pm

  2. congrats on your deserved award lol Rebecca

    Rebecca

    March 24, 2010 at 5:03 pm

  3. Congratulations on your award, Ed. Isn’t it fun to get them? I’m always so flattered someone thought enough about my site to give me one!
    You deserve it!

    Barbara

    March 24, 2010 at 4:26 pm

  4. Congrats on the award! 3 months???? really???? You seem like such a blogging pro.

    leaannbrown

    March 24, 2010 at 11:36 am

  5. We’re honoured that you thought of us with this award. Sunshine is such a positive thing isn’t it. We’ll have to put our thinking caps on when paying it forward.

    giz

    March 23, 2010 at 10:54 pm

  6. Hey Ed,
    Congratulations on this great award my friend! Moreover, thank you so very much for this wonderful award! It is a pleasure to share recipes and cooking insights with you, hard to believe it has only been 3 months that your blog has been up and running!

    Bon appetite!
    CCR
    =:~)

    Cajun Chef Ryan

    March 23, 2010 at 2:59 pm

  7. Congratulations. It absolutely doe snot surprise me. Your blog is fantastic!

    Sofia

    March 23, 2010 at 1:34 pm


Leave a Reply

