Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

Meatless Fridays # 5 – A Different take on Shrimp and Grits.

with 10 comments


shrimp and grits

     Anyone who has visited the low country of South Carolina is probably familiar with the dish Shrimp and grits. What started out as a breakfast for the fishermen here has turned into Haute Cuisine around the country. Basically the dish takes creamy grits and tops it with savory shrimp in a sauce. There seems to be a variety of interpretation of this dish mostly concerned with the shrimp and the sauce. I felt spicy so I  came up with my own take on this Southern classic. My version has Italian roots in that the sauce for the dish is a Marinara sauce. My Grits are made of coarse ground cornmeal seasoned with onion, garlic and fresh basil. I took the grits and let them cool into a cake. I then breaded and fried the cakes in panko. The shrimp were sautéed in Olive Oil

Grit Cakes

 

1/2 onion finely diced
1 tablespoon chopped garlic
1 cup water
12 oz cornmeal
1  cup milk
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
1/4 cup chopped fresh basil.

 

  • Sauté onion and garlic and add water. Stir until thickened.
  • Stir in milk, cheese and fresh basil.
  • Spoon into a lightly oiled casserole dish.
  • Smooth into 1 even layer and allow to cool.
  • Cut into triangles.

 

For breading

 

1/2 cup flour
1/4 cup milk
1 egg beaten
1 cup panko breadcrumbs

 

  • beat the egg with the milk.
  • Coat the triangle in flour.
  • Dip in the egg and milk mixture.
  • Dredge in the breadcrumb making sure that the hand in the crumbs is dry. If the hand is wet the breadcrumbs won’t stick
  • Fry at 350 degrees until golden brown.

Marinara sauce

This is the most simple but most delicious Marinara Sauce you will ever make!

1 can ground tomato (28 oz)
1 table spoon sugar
1 teaspoons salt
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon minced garlic
fresh basil
Lemon juice

Place the first 5 ingredients into a sauce pan and simmer (low) for 45 minutes.

Add some fresh basil. I don’t chop or tear it. I just throw it in stem and all ( I pick them out later). The basil will steep in and flavor your sauce like you couldn’t imagine. Simmer for 5 to 10 minutes more.

Pick out the basil and give your sauce a squeeze of lemon. Your done!

For the shrimp I just sautéed them in a little oil and placed them on the Marinara sauce.

Mangia!

Written by Ed Schenk

March 29, 2010 at 10:00 am

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have been in South Carolina but never tried this dish. It looks delicious.

    Alba H. Rodriguez

    Ingredients of a Woman

    March 30, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    • THis isn’t a trditional Shrimp and grits but enjoyable none the less.

      Ed Schenk

      March 31, 2010 at 8:00 am

  2. This looks lovely! Different from how I usually make it–but I love variety!

    Sommer

    March 30, 2010 at 7:46 pm

  3. Wow, this looks delicious! I grew up below the Mason Dixon line but am ashamed to say I’ve never tasted grits… Maybe now’s the time to try!

    Georgia

    March 30, 2010 at 5:03 pm

  4. I’ve been thinking a lot about Southern food lately, and this version looks like a must try.

    OysterCulture

    March 29, 2010 at 11:54 am

  5. I made barbque shrimp and grits from a recipe out of Food and Wine Magazine and thought it was just about the best thing I’ve ever eaten. I don’t think I’ve blogged about it though. Might have to make it soon. Great post as always.

    leaannbrown

    March 29, 2010 at 11:15 am


Leave a Reply

