Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

Meatless Fridays #6 – Deep Fried Catfish,Creamy Coleslaw and French Fries

with 12 comments


catfish

     I was a little lost when I started thinking what I should make for Meatless Friday but a quick trip to the grocery provided me with  inspiration. I’m not one to blow my budget on just one item no matter how good it is. I would rather face the challenge of creating based on what is presented to me. The catfish that was on sale at the market was really a no brainer. I have used catfish in a number of ways including making a really good catfish gumbo ( believe it or not it’s a traditional dish) but the tried and true thing to do with catfish is to fry it. The natural progression of the plate would have demanded hush puppies and coleslaw. The coleslaw was easy enough but I only had enough cornmeal to bread the fish or make hush puppies, not both! I decided to put my best efforts into the fish and forego the hushpuppies. Instead, I had some frozen French fries languishing in my freezer so I decided that this would complete the meal.

     The catfish was breaded using a standard breading procedure and for the crumb I used 50% bread crumb and 50% cornmeal. I fried at 350 until the crust was golden brown. The fish was perfect. I often forget how good this dish is!

      For the slaw I was feeling lazy so I bought a bag of pre – shredded cabbage. I did, however, make my own dressing. I mixed the sugar and apple cider vinegar and whisked until the sugar dissolved. I the added my mayonnaise and cabbage and managed to get it right on the first shot. A perfect mix of tart and sweet made for a great dressing.

     What can I say about the fries? The frozen ones are great! You would be hard pressed to make it better yourself.

    I also had some kicked up tartar in the fridge. Really just mayonnaise, pickle relish, brown mustard, chopped parsley and caper but it’s just awesome!

I only eat what nature provides!!

Written by Ed Schenk

April 3, 2010 at 10:37 am

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am getting on board with the Meatless Fridays, we just got done doing lent at our school and they were completely meatless. I think more attention should be paid to this movement. My company has joined the Flexitarian movement, and I think it is becoming the right thing to do….
    Great work here!!
    Dennis

    Chef Dennis

    April 10, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    • I did it mostly for Lent and am going to keep up the thread but not every week. Check out the other meatless Fridays. I did an Eggplant Parmesan tower and a Vitnemese rice noodle salad you mat be interested in.

      Ed Schenk

      April 10, 2010 at 12:55 pm

  2. US farm-raised catfish is one of our most sustainble eco-friendly seafood. I just had an article published on the website Blogcritics about this very subject. I urge your readers to follow your great example here and support sustainable seafood. The Monterey Bay Aquarium website is a wonderful site to get educated on just how much our oceans are in crisis. Great recipe.

    Lazaro

    April 10, 2010 at 9:54 am

  3. Wow, catfish looks so inviting, I have started to eat fish recently and looking for innovative recipes, love your recipes, will soon give a try.

    Ann

    April 8, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    • The farm raised catfish these days is excellent and cost effective as well.

      Ed Schenk

      April 8, 2010 at 2:17 pm

  4. Fabulous! This really looks great. I want to fry me up some catfish one of these days. Never done it. I’ve been known to buy those pre-shredded packs of cole slaw mix, but also always make my own dressing, which is just like yours. Nice photo!

    leaannbrown

    April 4, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    • Just use standard breading procedure and you should be fine. Any type vegetanle oil will do the job so don’t fret over oil type!

      Ed Schenk

      April 4, 2010 at 6:31 pm

  5. Dear Ed – HAPPY EASTER ~~

    Here’s wishing you and your family all the best wishes of the season!

    Delicious looking catfish there Ed. I could eat that till kingdom come!

    Ciao,

    Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

    PS – Just surfaced from my Easter baking….up till 2.00 AM! 🙂

    Devaki

    April 3, 2010 at 5:57 pm

  6. Looks great, Ed ! I like the idea of a 50/50 split for the fish breading. Hope you have a Happy Easter !

    Aileen

    April 3, 2010 at 11:56 am


Leave a Reply

