Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

Kitchen Gadgets – The Rival Fold Up Food Slicer

with 9 comments


    food slicer 2 Food slicer 3

 

     Back around new Years I did a post called “My Top Ten” in which, amongst other things, I included a list of my favorite kitchen gadgets that I either had or wanted. Thanks to the generosity of my sister I can cross off one of the items on my want list.

     The Rival Fold up food slicer is a great home slicer with lots of features including a safety button and an adjustable thickness plate. I have used it on a variety of Items including cold cuts and cheeses, as well as the Sunday roast. In each case the motor has proved itself strong enough to handle the task without much effort. Additionally cleanup is a snap as all the moveable parts (including the blade) come off for easy cleaning. On the negative side the slicer is small so it works best with smaller pieces of meats and cheeses. For about $40.00 It’s a neat tool to have around the house!

Written by Ed Schenk

April 9, 2010 at 5:22 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. HI Ed! Have a ToastMaster DeliSlicer/5″ blade, almost identical to the Rival except it’s reversed – you push the food (against the blade) from left to right. If you reverse the photos so the blade/food pusher/guard are to the left,

    geri

    June 5, 2013 at 12:03 pm

  2. Must admit, Ed, this is not on my list of kitchen must-haves! Space is a big problem for me so the idea that it folds up is a big plus!

    Barbara

    April 10, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    • Unfortunatly space is alway a problem in the kitchen. Still, I’m having fun with it!

      Ed Schenk

      April 10, 2010 at 5:48 pm

  3. Dear Ed – Wow, that’s an amazing gadget especially if you are going to use it regularly. I don’t think I can trust myself with a blade of that size…too much of a klutz 😉

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

    Devaki

    April 10, 2010 at 12:23 pm

  4. That it folds up tells me it’s easy to store too, always a consideration when thinking about new kitchen tools.

    Terry B, Blue Kitchen

    April 9, 2010 at 8:29 pm

  5. I need another kitchen gadget like I need a hole in the head, but I may not be able to live without this slicer!

    leaannbrown

    April 9, 2010 at 5:31 pm


Leave a Reply

