Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

Technique #1 – Standard Breading Procedure

with 9 comments


    One of the most useful techniques used in the kitchen is Standard Breading Procedure. It is called this because the same techniques are used in a large variety of recipes including Chicken Parmesan, breaded fish, Mozzarella sticks and fried green tomatoes. Standard breading Procedure consist of three components, flour(seasoned), egg and milk mixture and breadcrumb. The idea is that the flour will stick to the Food being breaded. The food is then dipped in the egg and milk mixture and sticks to the flour. Finally, the food is the dredged in the breadcrumbs. One of the fine points if this procedure is the use of both hands in the process. For me this means that my left hand (my “wet” hand) moves the food into the flour to be coated, then into the egg mix and then into the breadcrumb mixture. This is where my right hand (dry hand) will coat the food with the breadcrumbs thoroughly. The reason this is important is that if the right hand (dry hand) becomes wet the breadcrumbs will stick to your hand and your food will not be coated properly. By the same token if your left hand gets coated with flour the egg will not stick (if this happens just wash and dry your hands and continue). Also if you are not comfortable working from left to right just switch your station around and work right to left     

standard breading procedure                     from Left to right        Flour               Egg mix       breadcrumb

     Within this framework there are a number of things that can be done to spice up the process. I have added cheese and herbs to the breadcrumbs or used crushed tortilla chip instead of breadcrumbs. I have also used instant potato flakes instead of breadcrumbs for fish. There are also Panko (Japanese) breadcrumbs that are available in almost every supermarket these days. Once breaded the food should be allowed to sit for about 10 minutes to allow a “glue to form that bond the flour,egg mix and breadcrumb together before cooking. At this point your food can also be individually frozen. This allows you to prep ahead of your meal. At the appropriate time just remove from the freezer and cook.

     One of the points that are important in cooking foods that are breaded is to make sure not to overbrown your coating. For me this means either sealing my breading in a pan with some oil or “flash frying” in my deep fryer ( there are many fine home models on the market these days) until I get the desired light brown color. I actually take my foods out a little lighter than I want them do to the fact that they will keep browning after being seared. Also, it is important to not overfill your fryer or your oil temperature will drop and your coating will not set. Because many of the items I prepare this way are somewhat larger(chicken or fish) than a slice of zucchini or tomato I prefer to finish these foods on a sheet pan in the oven. This way I get a great color without burning the breading before the food is actually cooked. I “flash fry” these items one or 2 at a time. They will still finish well in the over even if they have been pre fried.

     I hope you have enjoyed this post and will try some of techniques discussed. If anyone has questions I can be contacted at Detroit Eats

     Until Next time..

Written by Ed Schenk

April 19, 2010 at 7:49 pm

Posted in Food, Recipe

Tagged with , , , , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wondered which approach to take first using this method. Instead, refrain from it. I need to save this one.

    Marian

    July 8, 2015 at 10:56 pm

  2. Thanks for the information…sure very handy when breading 😉

    Juliana

    April 26, 2010 at 7:47 pm

  3. never knew this. i like to leave my food for a while i feel tastes come out better.. and more aromatic

    interesting point about the breading

    Maaya

    April 22, 2010 at 6:38 am

  4. Dear ED – THANKS again for a very educational piece. From this article I leaned that we should allow our breaded foods to sit for 10 minutes.

    I have only ever done this with fried chicken. I had no idea I should be doing this with other foods as well.

    I love these articles of yours that teaches us all a thing or two.

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

    Devaki

    April 20, 2010 at 10:20 pm

  5. Yeah ur right the “one wet and one dry hand” is a great technique. I love using japanese breadcrumbs, they have a great crunchy texture with fried foods. I also use the potato flakes, they add flavor to my croquetas. And I love to season my crumbs with herbs and parmesan sometimes. U

    Mhe-Lhanee Benito

    April 19, 2010 at 10:42 pm


Leave a Reply

