Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

No… I haven’t gotten lost!!!/ Rib eye Steak with Grilled Romaine

with 6 comments


      In my last post I alluded to my new position.I wanted bring you up to date with my current status. I am currently in Grand Rapids Michigan. I am living on-site and ( doing what I do) creating/implementing first rate dining services programs. I do return to my house in Detroit weekly.

        For the last 2 weeks I have enjoyed the  Downtown Blues Festival in Grand Rapids Little Ed was the first week and Duke Robilard  appeared last week. This week it was Janiva Magness.

janiva magness

     Last week we had our first Al Fresco Dining  event and it went very well. We had literally twice our usual number participants joined us.We will be doing this weekly as long as the weather allows. Our resident  love what we are doing!! We have a wonderful Chef Manager who has a great relationship with our residents.

      I am taking a day off but wanted to stay in  touch

     Michigan has great small cities. Lansing, Ann Arbor, Flint and Grand Rapids  each host an  variety of cultural  events.

 

gr

My favorite meals lately has been steak with grilled romaine lettuce. I top the lettuce with an herb vinaigrette ( herbs from my garden) and Maytag Blue Cheese, as well as marinating the steak in fresh  herbs from my garden. I am fortunate to have a butcher shop in my neighborhood and they will cut steaks to my specifications.  I prefer to have my steaks cut to about 2 # and grill/roast when cooking.

 

P1010110

 

The Romaine lettuce I drizzle with the vinaigrette after I have topped it with the cheese  and slice the steak thin.

steak on the grill steak1 steak on the grill 2

  The results are spectacular!!!

Written by Ed Schenk

June 26, 2010 at 8:48 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad to see you’re back Ed! Congratulations on the new opportunities in your life. Grilled romaine and rib eye is definitely a great comeback meal! 🙂

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

    Devaki

    June 27, 2010 at 2:15 am

  2. Glad to hear from you Ed. Grilled Romaine is my favorite summer salad.

    leaannbrown

    June 26, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    • I used to not understand grilled lettuce . but it it is outstanding

      Ed Sckenk

      June 26, 2010 at 4:43 pm

  3. Congratulations on your new gig, Ed! You’re right about Michigan having great small cities, and Grand Rapids certainly is a nice one. We visited their new Art Museum last fall and really loved it. Also, Maytag blue cheese? Wonderful!

    Terry, at Blue Kitchen

    June 26, 2010 at 9:46 am


Leave a Reply

