Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

Tostada de Ceviche on Cinco de Mayo

leave a comment »


I will be coming up with new stories soon but until then I am going to re-post some of my favorites

Detroit Eats

ceviche

For many years I have had a love affair with eating raw (or preserved/cured) fish. The first experience I remember had to have been smoked salmon. I was introduced to it as a topping for my bagel. Of course cream cheese and red onion were the accompaniment. As my interest in food and cooking grew,first into a passion, later into a career I took every opportunity to acquaint myself with the various forms that raw fish took. Oysters and clams on the half shell were always a treat. When I discovered Sushi, a love affair I maintain to this day, no type of fish was off limits. Sea urchin,octopus,tuna,yellowtail were all favorites of mine.

Back in the early 1980’s, thanks to a free flight from an air freight company, I found myself in Los Angeles California with a week to kill.Being young and foolish I decided that I would continue…

View original post 726 more words

Written by Ed Schenk

June 9, 2015 at 5:12 pm

Posted in Food

Leave a Reply

