Detroit Eats

Musings of A Detroit Based Food Fanatic

Guest Post from Rebecca_

with 7 comments


 

                                Guest Blogger

My good friend and guest blogger is Rebecca from Chow and Chatter.com. Rebecca is a registered dietician who I met through Food blogs. She has a great recipe using polenta and sausage that we will share with you today. I follow with her post:

     Its with great pleasure to do a guest post for Ed a trained chef, with a lovely blog full of great recipes with a pro’s insight. I am Rebecca a dietitian and writer, I am a Brit and have been living In America for 7 years. Ed asked me to talk about the differences in food between the UK and the US. Well to be honest the traditional British diet of meat and two vegetables is quite similar to the American diet after all America is full of European immigrants. I do miss the pub lunch’s and little tea shops with tea and fresh cakes and scones. Most British cities are quite diverse and Brits love food from around the globe in particular Indian. My husband is from India, so we have lots of Indian food in our home, we are also very adventurous in the kitchen and love trying dishes from all over the World and often learn from our travels.

     I lived in a small town Elkin in NC for 4 years so experienced traditional Southern cooking, fried chicken, green beans, cornbread and so on. While I enjoy it as a dietitian it can be too heavy for me, but one thing I adored about the area was the fact so many folks grew wonderful gardens in the summer with amazing produce and can it for the winter. I miss my neighbor’s leaving it on my doorstep!

      We now live in Winston Salem NC it has a bit more diversity with decent Thai and Chinese restaurants and Greensboro has first class Vietnamese cuisine.

     My favorite American foodie cities are NYC its heaven you can eat food from a different country every day, New Orleans I adore the gumbo, crawfish cajun and creole cuisine. I also love Miami for seafood and Cuban and South American food. If you ask the locals you can find good places to eat any where you travel to!

IMG_0220[1]

Polenta and Sausage

Ingredients:
4 sweet pepper
Italian sausages (Applegate farms- made from chicken)
1 red pepper
1 yellow pepper
1/2 red onion Italian herbs
fresh basil
4 cloves of garlic
1 big yellow squash 2
small eggplants
3 small carrots green beans
5 tomatoes

one pack of sun dried tomato polenta

        Method:
      • Heat olive oil and add the onions and garlic and sauté for 2 min
      • Add all of the veggies and sausage  and stir fry for 10 min
      • Add tomatoes cover with a lid and simmer for 20 minutes
      • Cook polenta,separately, by mixing into boiling water and stirring continuously for 5 minutes
      • Spoon Polenta on plate and top with sausage and vegetable mix

      Thanks Rebecca !

      You can visit Rebecca at Chow and Chatter

      Written by Ed Schenk

      February 15, 2010 at 8:19 pm

      7 Responses

      Subscribe to comments with RSS.

      1. thanks E thanks doggy bloggy and Sook you are too kind

        thanks again E

        Rebecca

        Rebecca

        February 23, 2010 at 11:16 am

      2. Great post on both parts…I can always did some sausage and polenta! Sausage anything for that fact!

        Ed loved the Gumbo, my mom was from Louisiana, and we ate it often, the original, but now I love chicken and sausage!

        Chef E

        February 17, 2010 at 7:25 am

      3. I Love Rebecca’s blog. 🙂 This dish looks wonderful!

        Sook @ My Fabulous Recipes

        February 17, 2010 at 6:05 am

      4. wow Rebecca if Ed didnt come by my blog I would have never known you were guest posting over here – well done I love polenta and grits of all kinds.

        doggybloggy

        February 16, 2010 at 10:41 pm

      5. Thanks so much Elra and thanks Ed for letting me Guest Post

        Rebecca

        Rebecca

        February 16, 2010 at 10:23 pm

      6. Hi Rebecca, you are absolutely a good cook. It clearly show here, your polenta sound mouth watering.

        elra

        February 16, 2010 at 11:20 am


      Leave a comment